Happy with my first Mac!

There are many things that can be said about Apple products, but one is unanimous: they look great! The Mac Mini front panel has only a nice LED and the DVD entry.

Apple Mac Mini

The back panel is more interesting, since here are the connectors:

A certain unpleasant impression came from the large and heavy external power supply, almost half of the size and weight of the Mini itself; considering it is a 110W power supply, it is more or less acceptable (unfortunately I could not find a picture of it).
The Mini comes with an unusual mini-DVI connector. Fortunately it also comes with an adapter to the standard DVI-D male connector. Since it has all pins, I decided to play safe and I assumed it supports a Dual-Link display, so I bought an expensive 3m Dual-Link DVI-DVI cable and I connected the Mini to my old Sony monitor.
The next step was to prepare the keyboard. Again, after unpacking it, I was impressed by the great look of this Apple product. Since I do not like wires on my desk, it is an Apple Wireless Keyboard:

Apple Wireless Keyboard

It is a Bluetooth device, powered by 3 AA batteries, installed in the top round shaped part.

Apple Wireless Keyboard

For the other mandatory device, the mouse, I decided to deviate from the Apple product line and I went for the new Logitech M555b Bluetooth mouse (thanks to Lix and Bord for their advice).

Logitech M555b Bluetooth mouse

This device is powered by 2 AA batteries, fits perfectly in an average size hand, is very responsive and has a very smooth wheel.
Both Bluetooth devices were easily accepted by the Mini during the pairing step and did not require any driver installation.

The Mini started flawlessly as soon as I powered it on (well, to be absolutely true, in the first moments I had a small glitch: my monitor has both digital and analog input on the DVI connector, with a hidden switch to select between the two, so… no image until I switched it to digital input).

This is the first Mac installed on my desk, and it came after a very long time of constantly monitoring the Apple related sites and feeds. The new hardware was already available for several months, but I decided to wait for the new Snow Leopard, that was released in October.

Expectations are high, as I plan to use this new machine mainly as a media storage server (music, pictures, movies).

As far as I can tell after the first impressions, the Snow Leopard is a nice platform to work with. I don’t expect surprises from porting my music library from Windows iTunes to OS/X iTunes, but I’m very curious what will be the experience with porting the pictures library from Microsoft Expression Media (formerly iView) to Aperture 2…

About Liviu Ionescu (ilg)
Hi! My name is Liviu Ionescu (ilg, ilegeul or eunete for colleagues and friends) and I’m a senior IT engineer. Or should I say a real programmer?

2 Responses to Happy with my first Mac!

  1. liviu says:

    Cum zici tu!SI eu ma gindesc serios sa-mi comand unul cit de curind, Cred ca pentru grafica sunt mult superioare pc-urilor si am inteles ca nu prea au probleme cu virusii!

  2. oighen says:

    Liviu, remember the NeXT machines?? Please put some pictures of those in…–eugen

Leave a Reply

