Apple Bug Reporter – Miracles Do Happen!

Apple DeveloperIn the past I hopelessly tried to submit bugs and feature requests to Apple, using various available methods, like the iTunes Provide Feedback menu, or Apple – Mac OS X – Feedback, or posting on various forums. Needless to say, I never ever received a reaction.

So imagine my surprise this evening after receiving an email from Apple, related to a bug report that I filled in… yesterday! So miracles do happen! And it was not even a catastrophic bug, but one that I assigned myself the lowest priority (the Dictionary.app bug fails to display Wikipedia entries).


What I did differently this time was to use the Apple Bug Reporter, available in the Apple Developer site. (For more info please read Bug Reporting, especially Bug Reporting Best Practices).

Contrary to popular belief, access to the Apple Developer site was free, all I did was to register properly (ok, for just in case, I’ll check my bank account!).

It is also true that for real developer status, various subscriptions (like Mac OS X Developer and iPhone Developer) should be purchased, currently each strategically priced at $99/year.

Highly recommended!

About Liviu Ionescu (ilg)
Hi! My name is Liviu Ionescu (ilg, ilegeul or eunete for colleagues and friends) and I’m a senior IT engineer. Or should I say a real programmer?

Leave a Reply

